MCURL undefeated after Day 1 of OUA Champs.
Laurier men post two comfortable wins; WCURL splits first two games on Day 1

Friday, February 17, 2017 - Posted by Jamie Howieson

OSHAWA, Ont. – A total of 10 teams finished day one undefeated at the Ontario University Athletics (OUA) curling championship being hosted by the UOIT Ridgebacks at the Oshawa Golf and Curling Club.
32 teams from across the province are participating in the five-day championship with the top two men's and women's teams qualifying for the 2017 U SPORTS-Curling Canada University Championship, hosted by the Lakehead Thunderwolves, from March 18-22 at the Fort William Curling Club.
"What an incredible first day of action," said Scott Barker, manager of intercollegiate athletics at UOIT. "With the opening ceremony and five draws taking place, day one has really set the tone for what will be a great championship weekend in Oshawa."
The two-time defending champion men's team from Laurier breezed through the competition on the opening day picking up wins over Algoma (12-2) and Trent (8-2). They are joined at the top of the pool A standings by Queen's and Western who also earned two victories on Thursday.

Toronto and Guelph finished up round robin play with narrow 5-4 victories respectively to improve to 2-0 in pool B action. Guelph needed an extra end to beat Ryerson as their match closed out day one action at the championship. Carleton is also undefeated heading into Friday after earning a 5-4 win over Ryerson in their lone match of the day.
The Laurier women's team, who entered the championship as the three-time defending champions, split action on day one as they started out with a loss against Laurentian (7-3) followed up with a win against Lakehead (8-2). Laurentian is the lone team at 2-0 in pool A as they also earned an 8-2 win over Ryerson.
Laurentian is joined by Carleton at 2-0 as the Ravens downed Trent (9-2) and the hosting Ridgebacks (10-3). Brock and Queen's are 2-0 to lead pool B.
Following completion of the tournament on Monday, the Ontario University Athletic Association Curling Trophy and the Women's Curling Trophy will be awarded to the winners.  The OUAA Curling Trophy was first presented in 1964 by Messrs. W. Wilson and D. MacLennan, members of the McMaster University Curling Team).  Along with the trophies, OUA banners will be presented to both the men's and women's champions, as well as gold, silver and bronze medals.

Tournament play on Friday begins 8 a.m. with the final draw of the day set for 9 p.m.

For complete results and standings, visit the UOIT Ridgebacks website.

Copyright © 2018
The contents, but not any logo or other visual representation, of the Golden Hawk Website may be used and reproduced solely for non-commercial, personal or educational purposes provided that it is not modified and that you do not delete any copyrights and other legal or proprietary notices contained therein. Such information may not otherwise be used, reproduced, broadcast, published or re-disseminated without the prior written permission of Wilfrid Laurier Athletics.
For more information visit our Terms of Service page on our website or contact us at