Athletic Clubs recognized
Women's fastpitch named Club of the Year following outstanding season

Thursday, April 9, 2015 - Posted by Jamie Howieson

WATERLOO, Ont. (April 9, 2015) - On Tuesday, April 7th, Wilfrid Laurier University's Department of Athletics and Recreation hosted its 2nd Athletic Clubs Reception and Awards banquet recognizing outstanding clubs achievements over the past year.

Laurier's Athletic Clubs department has seen a year of successful club participation and competitions with over 700 club participants and 24 active clubs, making it a record year for participants in the department. At the celebration, major awards were handed out for Club of the Year, Club President of the Year, and Awards of Excellence for each club.

Club of the Year - Women’s Fastpitch
The women's fastpitch team finished their season with an impressive 17-5 record and captured a silver medal in the 2014 university championships. It is because of this finish that they qualify and will be representing Laurier at the 2015 CCSA National Championships this October at Durham College.

Club President of the Year
Jeremy Hedges from Letterman

Competitive Dance 
Exec award: Victoria Wood
Most Valuable Dancer: Kate Terrio

Field Hockey
Most valuable player: Meghan Bred 
Executive of the year: Sandra Taylor

Executive of the Year: Ali Nasser 
Member of the Year: Cole Waese

Most Dedicated: Rachel Thurley
Executive of the Year: Dorian Wilson

Figure Skating:
Most Improved: Victoria Trotta
Team Spirit Award: Christena Carney

The Executive Award: Umer Rai 
The General Member Award: Sharvil Pandya

Women’s Athletic Association
Executive of the Year: Stephanie Romero
General Member Award: Stephanie Pollock

Equestrian Club
Most Improved: Erick Labelle
Best Executive: Katie McKinnon

Ski & Snowboard
Executive of the Year: John Pham 
Most Dedicated: Ross Keiller

Executive of the Year: Rebecca Giang
Most Dedicated: Krisstopher Mekdeci

Women’s Fastpitch
Distinguished Services Award: Alicia Helmond 
Most Valuable Player: Amy Campagnolo

Dragon Boat
Most Improved: Ben Shi
Most Dedicated: Felicia Wong

President’s Award: Jeremy Hedges
President’s Award: Tamika Grant-Esco

Canoe & Kayak
Most Dedicated: Adam Rupnik
Most Improved: Nick Cullen

Most Dedicated: Mahdri Vorster
Most Valuable: Ryan Rogers

Copyright © 2018
The contents, but not any logo or other visual representation, of the Golden Hawk Website may be used and reproduced solely for non-commercial, personal or educational purposes provided that it is not modified and that you do not delete any copyrights and other legal or proprietary notices contained therein. Such information may not otherwise be used, reproduced, broadcast, published or re-disseminated without the prior written permission of Wilfrid Laurier Athletics.
For more information visit our Terms of Service page on our website or contact us at