Laurier Golden Hawks Logo
Follow Athletics Athletics Twitter Athletics Instagram Athletics Facebook Athletics YouTube Athletics Snapchat           Follow Recreation Recreation Twitter Recreation Instagram Recreation Facebook
Official home of the Golden Hawks
Adopt A Hawk Header Ad
 Adopt A Hawk Header Ad
Google TopBar
Women's Basketball
(Credit: Eva Ou)
(Credit: Eva Ou)
Morrison caps career with third OUA WBASK all-star nod
BURLINGTON, Ont. (February 27, 2018) - Nicole Morrison, a fifth year guard with the Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawks women’s basketball team, was named an OUA Second Team All-Star on Tuesday morning as the conference announced its all-stars and major award recipients.

For Morrison, a native of Hamilton, the all-star nod is the third of her career after being named a first team all-star in 2015-16 and a second team all-star last season.

The 5-5 point guard had a record-breaking season for the purple and gold in the final year of her illustrious career. Morrison, a communications studies major, set four team records over the course of the regular season including most assists in a season (105), most points in a season (462), most assists in a career (317) and most points in a career (1394).

Over the team’s 24 games this year, Morrison averaged 19.3 points per game, good for fourth-best in the country, and 4.4 assists per game, the sixth-best mark in all of U SPORTS. She also added 4.4 rebounds per contest and 2.0 steals per game.

As a result of her scoring efforts this year, she finishes her career ranked tenth all-time in OUA scoring.

The all-star nomination means Morrison finishes her time with the Golden Hawks as one of only four players in team history to be named an all-star on three separate occasions, joining Sarah Zagorski, Meaghan McGrath and Renata Adamczyk.

OUA Major Award Winners

Player of the Year – Leashja Grant, Lakehead
Defensive Player of the Year – Elizabeth Leblanc, Carleton
Rookie of the Year – Marin Scotten, Ryerson
Joy Bellinger Award – Andrea Priamo, Queen’s
Tracy MacLeod Award – Lindsay Shotbolt, York
Coach of the Year – Taffe Charles, Carleton

OUA First-Team All-Stars
Leashja Grant, Lakehead
Lindsay Shotbolt, York
Sofia Paska, Ryerson
Emily Prevost, Windsor
Hilary Hanaka, McMaster

OUA Second-Team All-Stars
Elizabeth Leblanc, Carleton
Nicole Morrison, Laurier
Heather Lindsay, Carleton
Veronika Lavergne, Queen’s
Mackenzie Puklicz, Western

OUA Third-Team All-Stars    
Linnaea Harper, McMaster
Keyira Parkes, Toronto
Catherine Traer, Carleton
Brooklynn McAlear-Fanus, Ottawa
Julia Curran, Western

OUA All-Rookie Team
Marin Scotten, Ryerson
Brigitte Lefebvre-Okankwu, Ottawa
Burke Bechard, Guelph
Sarah Gates, McMaster
Kristin Gallant, Brock
Hawk Shop
Athletes of the Week
Athletes of the Week
Hours of Operation
 Hours of Operation
Women's Basketball
U Sports Top 10
1. Carleton (1)
2. Regina (2)
3. Acadia (3)
4. McMaster (4)
5. Laval (5)
6. Saskatchewan (7)
7. McGill (6)
8. Windsor (8)
9. Ottawa (NR)
10. Trinity Western (9)
As of Feb. 27, 2018
Google AdBanner
Fan of the Game
Wilf's Fan of the Game
Grads Soar
Laurier Grads Soar
Pizza Pizza's Intramural
Team of the Week
Intramural Team of the Week